Search

Wait a minute, while we are rendering the calendar

MICHAEL'S NEWSFLASHES & MEMORIES!!!

Capturing the events and memories that make up our lives!

DISAPPEARING BALL TRICK

Disappear
DISAPPEARING BALL TRICK A favorite TV show of mine is Penn & Teller's Fool Us, and I absolutely love magic tricks. I was set and ready to rule on this pitch when nothing came towards me at home plate. Where did it go? What happened? Why did the pitcher not deliver the pitch? What in the world happened? BLOWN MECHANICS - Yes, you can fault me all day long for not immediately coming up strong with my left arm out and a loud "Illegal Pitch" vocal call. Yep, I totally blew that and I immediately went into the awe and wonder mode of, "What in the world is going on?" WHAT TO DO? - I came up out of my stance sure that something must have happened to prevent the pitcher from delivering the pitch. I seem to always want to go into mercy mode and ...
Continue reading
  47 Hits
  0 Comments
47 Hits
0 Comments

BALL!.... C'mon Blue!

Ball
BALL!.... C'mon Blue! I called "Ball" and everyone, even the batter thought I had made a mistake. The body language of the batter totally condemned my call and confirmed to all that I was wrong... For me, I was just being consistent and the video shows that I made the right call. These were two awesome teams with pitchers making adjustments in degrees of inches, and they both deserved accurate calls. PHILOSOPHY - Would you prefer an umpire to call anything close a strike and send lots of batters to the dugout? Some feel it makes for a better game. Batters swing more. Innings pass by quicker. Batters have to expand their zone. And pitchers get away with balls being called strikes. Or would you prefer that the umpire call the strike zone cons...
Continue reading
  35 Hits
  0 Comments
35 Hits
0 Comments

MY VIEW - Stealing Second Base

Stealing2nd
MARCH 11, 2020 * MY VIEW - Stealing Second Base My hat mounted GoPro Session shows you what we get to see as umpires on stealing plays at second base. I even slow the video down for you, but you can clearly see when the tag is applied and where the runner's foot is at the time of the tag. In a 3-man crew, and being counter-rotated, it puts me in a spot that removes all questions as to what transpires... Yes, she is out. Make it a great game! Michael Leavitt - Orem, Utah   WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS?   FACEBOOK - YOUTUBE -
  331 Hits
  0 Comments
331 Hits
0 Comments

ILLEGAL BAT - Do you know the penalty for using an illegal bat?

IllegalBat
MARCH 9, 2020 - I did not realize the player entered the batter's box with an illegal bat. An illegal bat is a bat that is either unapproved or altered. In this case, it was an Easton "Gold" Ghost, which is unapproved for high school play. The same bat with the blue lettering is approved and carries the appropriate USA Softball approved logos. I did not realize the batter had used this bat until after she cranked a deep foul ball and I saw the bat laying on the ground. RULE CITATION NFHS 7-4-2: ART. 2 . . . The batter enters the batter's box with an illegal bat or is discovered having used an illegal bat and the infraction is detected before the next legal or illegal pitch (only the umpire or defense may detect an illegal bat). PENALTY: The...
Continue reading
  332 Hits
  0 Comments
332 Hits
0 Comments

AWESOME! - Slide At Second

Slide
March 6, 2020 - Watch this play from yesterday at Union High School in Roosevelt, Utah. This is a complicated play that involved lots of judgment, patience, and movement to get it right. I was thrilled to be the base umpire with all of the responsibility. And with all humility... I nailed it! INTERFERENCE - The initial potion of the play immediately left me deciding NOT to call interference. What the runner did was odd, but at the time I felt the shortstop had no play on the ball. Was I wrong? At the time I was set up right off her left shoulder. And yet, re-watching the play, I am certain that there will be at least some viewers who will wonder why interference was not called and the play immediately killed dead. Selfishly in hindsight, I ...
Continue reading
  369 Hits
  0 Comments
369 Hits
0 Comments

You Make The Call - Fingertips At Home

Safe
March 3, 2020 - This is a fun play at home plate. In fact, I can be heard to say, "Wow!", after it came to fruition. I had no obstruction due to the fact that the runner had already chosen her base path towards home plate long before the catcher ever started to come towards the baseline. The best part was the runner's ability to slide in and get her fingertips right on the most rear portion of the plate just before the tag was applied. But that is my take on the play. What would you have called? Would you have signaled obstruction and then safe? Or would you have been just as giddy as me when you realized that you had a front-row view to a great moment on the softball diamond? What's your call? Michael Leavitt - Orem, Utah WHAT ARE YOUR THO...
Continue reading
  893 Hits
  0 Comments
893 Hits
0 Comments

You make the call * I Was Wrong!

Wrong
3-3-2020 - The coach responded with total class in a low voice, "She was under it." "Ya think so?" I responded. Sure enough, the third base coach was right. In my defense, I was wrong. Yep, I was really wrong. And even after reconsidering, I was still wrong! This play was the second play of the second inning. I thought I was doing so well to position myself for the bunt and the throw to first. What I initially missed was the runner blowing through second base heading for third. I got as jump towards third too late and was still moving when the action at third was taking place. I know this skewed my perception. I also knew this was close. I sold the call and the only complaint was the coach's very low volume comment. He was a total class act...
Continue reading
  362 Hits
  0 Comments
362 Hits
0 Comments
Facebook
TIPS - Michael Leavitt
Twitter - Michael Leavitt
YouTube - Michael Leavitt
Google+ Linked In - Michael Leavitt Blog - Michael Leavitt
Zillow - Michael Leavitt
             
Zillow - Michael Leavitt